Dead River by Cyn Balog

deadriverTitle: Dead River

Author: Cyn Balog

Publisher: Delacorte

Publication Date: April 2013

Pages: 242

Genre: Young Adult Horror

Book Summary (from Goodreads.com)

My friends and I are spending prom weekend at a remote wooded cabin on the Dead. The Dead River.

I thought it was going to be just us.

I was wrong.

Review

I picked this up, thinking it would be a horror novel. And in some ways it was. The creepy imagery is great (Pink dress girl is my favorite), and I loved the fear of the water in the main character, and the reasons for it. Balog’s descriptions are fantastic and really draw you in. It was descriptive without being too wordy and giving too much. It is horror, but the paranormal aspect, for me, took some of the bite out of the horror. Which I actually liked. I enjoy goosebump horror better than shock and jump horror.

It did not, however, end up where I thought it might. The twist was interesting, and it worked. I do wish there had been more explanation of some things, though. The mythology is left open to reader interpretation, which isn’t necessarily bad, but I wish we’d been given a little more. Also, I loved Trey, and the growth he makes over the course of the book. I like that you aren’t always sure of him, just like the MC.

Definitely liked the characters, and enjoyed the story. A great read, and if you enjoy creepy things, definitely pick it up!

Ratingstarcolorunlabeledstarcolorunlabeledstarcolorunlabeledstarcolorunlabeled

Where to Find the Book

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/9774362-dead-river

Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/0385741588?ie=UTF8&tag=httpwwwgoodco-20&linkCode=as2&camp=1789&creative=9325&creativeASIN=0385741588&SubscriptionId=1MGPYB6YW3HWK55XCGG2

Barnes and Noble: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/dead-river-cyn-balog/1112126037?ean=9780385741583&itm=1&usri=9780385741583

Book was purchased by reviewer.

Leave a Reply

