Obsidian by Jennifer L. Armentrout

obsidianTitle: Obsidian

Author: Jennifer L. Armentrout

Publisher: Entangled Teen

Publication Date: March 2012

Pages: 335

Genre: Young Adult Fantasy

Book Summary (from Goodreads.com)

Starting over sucks.

When we moved to West Virginia right before my senior year, I’d pretty much resigned myself to thick accents, dodgy internet access, and a whole lot of boring…. until I spotted my hot neighbor, with his looming height and eerie green eyes. Things were looking up.

And then he opened his mouth.

Daemon is infuriating. Arrogant. Stab-worthy. We do not get along. At all. But when a stranger attacks me and Daemon literally freezes time with a wave of his hand, well, something…unexpected happens.

The hot alien living next door marks me.

You heard me. Alien. Turns out Daemon and his sister have a galaxy of enemies wanting to steal their abilities, and Daemon’s touch has me lit up like the Vegas Strip. The only way I’m getting out of this alive is by sticking close to Daemon until my alien mojo fades.

If I don’t kill him first, that is.

Review

First of all, as a native West Virginian, I loved that this is a WV author, who actually uses one of my favorite places, Seneca Rocks, in the book. I love it when I can connect with a specific place in a story. Double bonus because its WV.

This is a great read. I’m not the biggest fan of aliens. But this one, like I am Number Four, surprised me. I read it because I’d seen all the hype and then picked it up and realized it was set in Seneca. I was sold on that alone. But I really enjoyed the backstory and history she’s given the aliens (there are two kinds) and the reasoning for why they are where they are. The characters are well done, though I must admit that I got very tired of hearing how hot Daemon was. After the first few times, I skimmed those parts. I also wished that Daemon and Katy were a little less antagonistic. I enjoyed both of them, and when they weren’t being overly ridiculous, I enjoyed their interplay. I even liked the snarkiness between them in the beginning. But at the end, the angry banter did get to me. Whether or not it was meant to be that way, it seemed like their banter was more petty arguing over little things. It got old. I find the idea of being attracted to someone so you make them angry and pick at you to be a huge turn off, so that part was hard to get past.

Overall, it was a great, quick read that kept me turning the pages. I’m definitely going to check out the other books to see where it ends up. If you like paranormal/scifi, then you should definitely pick this up!

Ratingstarcolorunlabeledstarcolorunlabeledstarcolorunlabeledstarcolorunlabeled

Where to Find the Book

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/12578077-obsidian

Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/1620610078?ie=UTF8&tag=httpwwwgoodco-20&linkCode=as2&camp=1789&creative=9325&creativeASIN=1620610078&SubscriptionId=1MGPYB6YW3HWK55XCGG2

Barnes and Noble: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/obsidian-jennifer-l-armentrout/1105621066?ean=9781620610077&itm=1&usri=9781620610077

Book was purchased by reviewer.

3 thoughts on “Obsidian by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Leave a Reply

