Book Highlight: The Winter People by Rebekah Purdy

So, this particular book highlight is near and dear to me – I got to read this before it was published, and its a fabulous book. I can’t wait for the others to come out!

 

TheWinterPeople500

Blurb (from Goodreads):

An engrossing, complex, romantic fantasy perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore or Maggie Stiefvater, set in a wholly unique world.

Salome Montgomery fears winter—the cold, the snow, the ice, but most of all, the frozen pond she fell through as a child. Haunted by the voices and images of the strange beings that pulled her to safety, she hasn’t forgotten their warning to “stay away.” For eleven years, she has avoided the winter woods, the pond, and the darkness that lurks nearby. But when failing health takes her grandparents to Arizona, she is left in charge of maintaining their estate. This includes the “special gifts” that must be left at the back of the property.

Salome discovers she’s a key player in a world she’s tried for years to avoid. At the center of this world is the strange and beautiful Nevin, who she finds trespassing on her family’s property. Cursed with dark secrets and knowledge of the creatures in the woods, his interactions with Salome take her life in a new direction. A direction where she’ll have to decide between her longtime crush Colton, who could cure her fear of winter. Or Nevin who, along with an appointed bodyguard, Gareth, protects her from the darkness that swirls in the snowy backdrop. An evil that, given the chance, will kill her.

About the Author

4615084

Rebekah was born and raised in Michigan where she spent many late nights armed with a good book and a flashlight. She’s lived in Michigan most of her life other than the few years she spent in the U.S. Army. At which time she got a chance to experience Missouri, Kansas, South Carolina, and California. Rebekah has a business degree from University of Phoenix and currently works full time for the court system. In her free time she writes YA stories, anything from YA Fantasy to YA Contemporary Romance. Rebekah also has a big family (6 kids) she likes to consider her family as the modern day Brady Bunch complete with crazy road trips and game nights. When not hiding at her computer, Rebekah enjoys reading, singing, soccer, swimming, football, camping, playing video games, traveling, and hanging out with her family and gazillion pets.

 

 

 

 

 

Links:

Websitehttp://rebekahlpurdy.wordpress.com/

Goodreadshttps://www.goodreads.com/book/show/18630479-the-winter-people?from_search=true

Amazonhttp://www.amazon.com/gp/product/1622663683/ref=x_gr_w_bb?ie=UTF8&tag=httpwwwgoodco-20&linkCode=as2&camp=1789&creative=9325&creativeASIN=1622663683&SubscriptionId=1MGPYB6YW3HWK55XCGG2

Barnes & Noblehttp://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/the-winter-people-rebekah-l-purdy/1117058087?ean=9781622663682&itm=1&usri=9781622663682&cm_mmc=AFFILIATES-_-Linkshare-_-GwEz7vxblVU-_-10:1&r=1,%201

Advertisements

Book Highlight: Dead Jed by Scott Craven

Check out this Book Highlight!dead jed cover

It’s tough surviving middle school, and even rougher for Jed Rivers, Pine Hollow’s resident zombie. With an undead class of one, Jed attracts a lot of attention, most of it bad. All he wants to do is make it through each day in one piece.
While bullies enjoy random games of “Pull the arm off the zombie,” Jed does his best to stay out of the principal’s office since it’s occupied by a man who isn’t sure the undead are entitled to a public education. With a gray pallor unaffected by sunlight, Jed often oozes a thin sheen of a mysterious substance that may have something to do with  his rather curious undead state. As he tries his best to be normal, he finds himself further separated from kids who want nothing to do with a guy who needs staples and duct tape to keep it together.
Only when he finally embraces being a zombie, Jed finds advantages that help him go from zero to hero. He proves he’s got a whole lot of heart, even it if isn’t beating.

About the Author:

Craven head shotSCOTT CRAVEN is a features writer for the Arizona Republic in Phoenix. The graduate of Cal Poly-San Luis Obispo has a 19-year-old son Bryson, a young man who spent his formative years in a zombie-like state (as with many adolescents). Scott formed a strong bond with zombie movies ever since he saw (the then age-inappropriate) Night of the Living Dead.  “Dead Jed” is his first novel. In December, look for “Dead Jed 2: Dawn of the Jed” from Month9Books.

Links:

Website: http://scott-craven.com/

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/18158040-dead-jed?ac=1

Twitter: https://twitter.com/Scott_Craven2

Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Dead-Jed-Adventures-Middle-School/dp/0988340909/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1408216264&sr=8-1&keywords=dead+jed

Barnes & Noble: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/dead-jed-scott-craven/1112950167?ean=9780988340909

Book Highlight: Gates of Thread and Stone by Lori M. Lee

Book Highlight!

Gates-cover-FINAL-med

In the Labyrinth, we had a saying: keep silent, keep still, keep safe.

In a city of walls and secrets, where only one man is supposed to possess magic, seventeen-year-old Kai struggles to keep hidden her own secret—she can manipulate the threads of time. When Kai was eight, she was found by Reev on the riverbank, and her “brother” has taken care of her ever since. Kai doesn’t know where her ability comes from—or where she came from. All that matters is that she and Reev stay together, and maybe one day move out of the freight container they call home, away from the metal walls of the Labyrinth. Kai’s only friend is Avan, the shopkeeper’s son with the scandalous reputation that both frightens and intrigues her.

Then Reev disappears. When keeping silent and safe means losing him forever, Kai vows to do whatever it takes to find him. She will leave the only home she’s ever known and risk getting caught up in a revolution centuries in the making. But to save Reev, Kai must unravel the threads of her past and face shocking truths about her brother, her friendship with Avan, and her unique power.

Praise for Gates of Thread and Stone

“Lori M. Lee excels in building a world of intrigue, oppression, and magic amidst a Labyrinth setting as twisted and winding as the secrets hidden inside her characters’ hearts. Fans of strong heroines who don’t need a boy to hold their hands, action-packed fighting scenes, and whispers of steampunk and mythology, will find themselves wishing they, too, could manipulate the threads of time, if only to stay inside the story a little longer.”-A.G. Howard, the SPLINTERED series

“Inventive, romantic, and gripping. I was hooked from the first page!”-Amy Tintera, REBOOT and REBEL

 

About the Author

lori_small

Lori is the author of young adult fantasy Gates of Thread and Stone, coming August 5, 2014 from Skyscape. She has a borderline obsessive fascination with unicorns, is fond of talking in capslock, and loves to write about magic, manipulation, and family. She lives in Wisconsin with her husband, kids, and a friendly pitbull.

Links:

Preorder Links:
 

Cover Reveal: The Undertakers: Secret of the Corpse Eater by Ty Drago

Oh man! We’re so happy to be a part of the cover reveal for Ty Drago’s THE UNDERTAKERS: SECRET OF THE CORPSE EATER. Take a look at this awesome book and cover!
Undertakers 3 Ty Drago Final CoverTitle: THE UNDERTAKERS: SECRET OF THE CORPSE EATER
Publication date: March 25, 2014
Publisher: Month9Books, LLC.
Author: Ty Drago
TEASER:
The Corpses are up something.
U.S. Senator Lindsay Micha had been kidnapped and replaced with a “dead” ringer, the sister to Lilith Cavanaugh, the Queen of the Dead. Now Will Ritter must go undercover in our nation’s capital to ferret out the truth and try to stop this ambitious deader. But his mission becomes even more dangerous when he learns of a mysterious ten-legged monster that prowls the halls of the Capitol Building — a lethal monster with a taste for Corpse flesh.
Can such an alien “enemy of his enemy” truly become Will’s friend?
TD
ABOUT TY DRAGO:
In addition to the first two books in UNDERTAKERS series, RISE OF THE CORSPES and QUEEN OF THE DEAD, Ty Drago is the author of PHOBOS, a Science Fiction whodunit and THE FRANKLIN AFFAIR, an historical/mystery about Benjamin Franklin. His short fiction has appeared in numerous venues, including the 2009 anthology YESTERDAY, I WILL …, and he has written articles for WRITERS DIGEST. His first UNDERTAKERS novelette, NIGHT OF MONSTERS, is currently available for FREE on Smashwords.com and barnesandnoble.com.

Connect with the Author:  Website | Twitter | Facebook | Goodreads

 

Book Highlight: Prisoner of Night and Fog

We at Book Geek Review are thrilled to be allowed to Highlight Anne’ Blankman’s upcoming book, PRISONER OF NIGHT AND FOG, and show you the spiffy new cover (which is amazing, btw).

The Info:

Publisher: Balzer+Bray/HarperCollins
Release Date: April 22, 2014
ISBN: 9780062278814
Goodreadshttp://goo.gl/udpxD3
Amazonhttp://goo.gl/BviVGU
Barnes and Noble:http://goo.gl/s95XwW

The Blurb:

In 1930s Munich, danger lurks behind dark corners and secrets are buried deep within the city.

But Gretchen Müller, who grew up in the Nationalist Socialist Party as her uncle Dolf’s favorite, has always been shielded from that side of society. Uncle Dolf has kept Gretchen’s family in his cherished inner circle ever since her father traded his life for Uncle Dolf’s, and Gretchen is his little pet.

Uncle Dolf is none other than Adolf Hitler. And Gretchen, who lives in the shadow of her uncle, follows his every command.

Until she meets a fearless and handsome young Jewish reporter named Daniel Cohen. She should despise Daniel, yet she can’t stop herself from listening to his story: that her father, the adored Nazi martyr, was actually murdered by an unknown comrade. She also can’t help the fierce attraction brewing between them, despite everything she’s been taught to believe about Jews. As Gretchen investigates the very people she’s always considered friends, she must decide where her loyalties lie. Will she choose the  safety of her former life as a Nazi darling or will she dare to dig up the truth—even if it could get her and Daniel killed?

From debut author Anne Blankman comes this harrowing and evocative story about an ordinary girl faced with the extraordinary decision to give up everything she’s ever believed…and to trust her own heart instead.

The (Totally Amazing) Cover:

 Night&Fog_jkt cvr

The Author:

Anne Blankman 02Anne Blankman is a young adult author and librarian. A native New Yorker, Anne lives with her husband and young daughter in southeastern Virginia, where the summers haven’t killed her yet. PRISONER OF NIGHT AND FOG is the first in a three-book deal.
Websitewww.anneblankman.com
Twitter: @AnneBlankman